Is Youtube Red worth it? (1 Month in)

By

I’m 1 month in from a 4 month free trial subscription for Youtube Red and I’m honestly loving it.  I’m not entirely sure if it’s still the 4 months free promotion but either way, you can get 1 month free to test it out for yourself.

I’ve broken down the best and worst bits of Youtube Red. Enjoy!

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-10-28-29-pm

Benefits of Youtube Red

– SAVING OFFLINE VIDEOS –
You can save offline videos from Youtube to watch whenever you want on that device.  You don’t have to have internet connection to watch the offline videos, and I tell ya, on my 1 hour train rides, it is a life saver.  There’s also a dedicated playlist of your offline videos so it separates from your other playlists.

– CONTINUOUS PLAY OUTSIDE OF APP –
You can play the videos while not being in the app.  I didn’t know this was a benefit.  I somewhat freaked out the first time I was playing a Youtube video on my phone and exited the app to find the audio was still playing.  It’s damn convient especially if you listen to vloggers or music and don’t need to look at the screen.

– EXCLUSIVE YOUTUBE RED CONTENT –
At the start there wasn’t much content but as each month passes by, new shows with prominent Youtubers get uploaded on Youtube Red.  My current favourite is “Mind Field” by Vsauce which really is it’s own show and is everything that’s good about Youtube Red content.

A few other notables for me are Ghostmates, Single by 30, and The Thinning.

– FREE TRIAL PERIOD –
You get to try before you buy.  It’s a beautiful thing.  You’ll find a lot of people won’t even sign up for the free trial only because they’re too lazy to cancel after it, it’s literally like 3 clicks to cancel the subscription. Jump on!

– FREE GOOGLE PLAY –
Ad-free Google Play music comes included with a Youtube Red subscription.  I call this one a win.  A plus is you can upload all your music from your comp/mac into Google Play.  #CloudStorageFTW

– EASE OF USE –
If you already have a Youtube account, it connects to it oh so easily.  It’s quite effective and lets you get stuck into it straight away.

hgads_98spgdarbjdtzxjpp9nhhrba7yzphjyr9glaqqutra50ufcdrgcyznybwrokmrpukyqr_g0h6xaecfnzmzx-xmqid5s65sntbddipvpexh6ircroxl-pp6yjcwmbhukc_c

Negatives of Youtube Red

– COSTS MONEY –
The biggest blunder of Youtube Red is not only does it cost money, but it’s quite a bit.  Over $10 a month for what seems to be only a few new shows can be harsh for some people.  It would be better if it was a flat fee instead of monthly installments but then continuous funding for Youtube Red would be harder to come by.

– NOT SUPPORTING SMALLER YOUTUBERS –
A lot of the smaller Youtubers might not feel so greatly about they’re biggest source of income (ad revenue) being diminished by Youtube Red.  Youtube has stated a tiny percentage of revenue goes back to the creators, but I’m not believing that one bit.  Don’t let that discourage you, it’s your life, yo.  Enjoy it!

– YOU HONESTLY MIGHT NOT NEED IT –
Not to be captain obvious, but many people don’t need the added features or the content of Youtube Red.  They’ve added some great features and some bad ones (the yt music app).  For over $100 a year, it’s hard to convince a non hardcore fan to pay for the subscription plan.  My best advice is trial it out and if it doesn’t make a difference to your personal Youtube experience, cancel after the trial is over.

maxresdefault

Will I continue to use Youtube after the trial?

I honestly believe I will.  It makes life way more easier on the long train rides to and from the city.  Plus the added bonus of getting exclusive content, and knowing I somehow can contribute (if that) to the salary of Youtubers is good enough for me.

What are your thoughts on Youtube Red?

Thanks for reading, onliners. #BangBang

Kevin


Watch below for my latest video

 

